Home > Travel > Once more into the breach, dear friends…

Once more into the breach, dear friends…

[This was originally sent as an email to a bunch of friends.]

I arrived in Nong Khai at 9am yesterday, wandered about town in search of somewhere to crash and found myself beside a river. It took a little time for my brain to realise where I was.

So I found a cafe, obtained an excellent coffee, sat down and stared across the Mekong into Laos.

As the Aussies on this mail list can probably appreciate, it’s a strange feeling indeed to be able to stand in one country and look at another.

I’m going over to Laos tomorrow. Weirdly, I feel more nervous about this than I did over leaving my own country.

Bits of my being are trying to catch up with my physical manifestation, I’m feeling quite disoriented right now (nothing to do with the large bottle of Singha I just drank, I can assure you). I’m hoping that the Net connections in Laos are better than my 2 year old travel guide suggests. I’ll be hotfooting it over to Vietnam, probably take me about a week to get there (5 days to get a visa, apparently).

You know… I’m not entirely sure what to say… a lot has happened to me, much of which is hard to put in writing. I came here to change, and I am. I have. It’s so hard to explain. I like to think that on some level everyone has a desire to connect with the world on a higher level, but it’s so rare to make that known to others. I’ve met a few that I know think that way, maybe more that do but haven’t made that known. I don’t know… I’m finding faith in things other than “work hard, save money, buy this, want that”.

:) Maybe some of you are thinking, “Yep, Karsoe’s gone off the deep end.” Truth is, I’m only now starting to truly know things I long suspected for many years. I actually feel like I’m a part of something, though I still don’t know exactly what to call that.

“I know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

Hmmm… maybe I should go, check in again when I’m feeling more complete.

Take care,
Paul C./Karsoe

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

